Belarus food embargo

From January 1, 2022, Belarus will impose a six-month ban on the import of a number of goods from states "pursuing discriminatory policies and unfriendly actions towards the country." 

Belarus map

According to the decree of the government of Belarus, import restrictions will affect the European Union and its member states, the USA, Canada, Norway, Albania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Great Britain, Montenegro and Switzerland.

Among the goods under the embargo are beef and poultry, pork, sausages, milk and dairy products, vegetables, fruits, nuts, confectionery, salt and “other food products”.

The press service of the Belarusian government stressed that the import ban contains a number of exceptions. In particular, it will not touch upon goods imported by Belarusians for personal consumption, goods intended for baby food, and a number of items of critical import.

LAN-team Moscow